Home  |  About Us  |  Blog
therapistschools.com
Browse By Career




























Massage Therapy Training in New Hampshire

If you live in New Hampshire and you enjoy helping people through the science of touch and kinesiology -- a career in massage therapy might just be the right option for you. The field of massage therapy can be an exciting career, especially in the state of New Hampshire. A variety of opportunities are available for massage therapists in the state of New Hampshire ranging from working in a salon or spa to practicing massage therapy in a resort or hotel to using their talents in the medical field by working in a clinic or hospital. Therefore, MTs in New Hampshire have numerous options, as far as, where they want to work, whom they work with, and the style of therapy they use.

MT License in New Hampshire: Qualifications

There are specific qualifications that a person must meet before they are eligible to be licensed to practice massage therapy in the state of New Hampshire. The qualifications are listed below:

  • Must be 18 years in age
  • Must have received a high school diploma
  • Must provide proof of satisfactory mental and physical health
  • Must not have been convicted of a moral crime or a sexually-related crime in the past ten years

MT License in New Hampshire: Education Requirements

Individuals who are studying to become a massage therapist in New Hampshire are required to have a minimum of 750 hours of coursework through either an online program or a massage therapy school in New Hampshire. The state has specific curriculum requirements for anyone training to become a massage therapist. Here is the breakdown of curriculum hours required of Licensed Massage Therapists (LMTs) by the State of New Hampshire:

  • Anatomy and Physiology - 150 hours
  • History, Theory, Practice, Related Modalities (including hydrotherapy and Swedish massage) Contradictions and Benefits of Massage Therapy - 375 hours
  • Hygienic and Sanitary practices (including blood-borne disease standards, First Aid training, and CPR certification) - 50 hours
  • Practical hours w/documentation including client notes names and address info and signature from a school representative - 125 hours

MT License in New Hampshire: Exam Requirements

In New Hampshire, like most other states, individuals are required to pass an examination that indicates their level of knowledge within the field (as well as, MT knowledge in relation to the state of NH). Those training to become a Licensed Massage Therapist are required by the state to pass the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB) in order to practice within the state. When an individual has passed the NCETMB, they are then, considered Licensed Massage Therapists, which means eligible to practice massage therapy in the state of New Hampshire.

If you receive specialized education, for instance you are trained in the medical aspects of massage therapy; you could find yourself working for some of the state's top hospitals such as, Chesire Medical Center, Concord Hospital, Wentworth Douglas Hospital or the Catholic Medical Center. Whether you live in Concord, Manchester, Nashua, Derry Village or any other city in New Hampshire -- you'll find that a career in massage therapy will be very flexible, financially rewarding and fun.