Massage Therapist Programs in IdahoTraining for a career in massage therapy in Illinois can be exciting and very rewarding, and that fact is true now, more than ever. If you start a stimulating massage therapy career in Illinois, there's very good news: the average annual salary is high and expected to get even higher. The national average for massage therapists is $45,887, and MTs in Illinois are close to the national average for the profession. Massage Therapists in Chicago, IL make an average annual income of $50,369. Peoria, MTs make a yearly salary of $45,742 and MTs who work in Champaign make approximately $44,566.
Getting your MT License in Illinois
In Illinois, massage therapy licenses are administered by the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation (the Massage Therapy Licensure division) in Springfield. In order for someone training to be a massage therapist in Illinois -- they must meet certain requirements that are determined by the Massage Therapy Licensure division of the IDFPR (www.idfpr.com ). These requirements require MT students to:
- Complete 500 hours related to massage therapy at an accredited school *Pay Illinois state licensing fees -- $175
- Pass the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB)
After completing the appropriate training and meeting the requirements for MTs in Illinois -- you will be considered a professional Massage Therapist who is legally allowed to practice massage therapy within the state. However, every two years MTs in Illinois are required to renew their Massage Therapist License. To do so, Illinois MTs will have to meet certain criteria and provide documentation to prove that they meet the requirements. Licensed MTs are required to renew their license once every two years. An Illinois massage therapy license expires on the last day of the year on an even numbered year (e.g. - December 31, 2010, December 31, 2012, December 31, 2014, etc.). An Illinois MT license can be renewed either online or over the phone. The requirements to renew an Illinois MT license include:
- Submitting a renewal application
- Paying the non-refundable license renewal fee ($87.50)
- Continued Education
After the first license renewal, Illinois MTs are required to fulfill the massage therapy CEU laws (continued education unit) in the state. The requirements for continued education in Illinois are, as follows:
- MTs must complete 24 hours of approved CEU courses, every license renewal period (after the first renewal). Credit hours are required by the IDFPR to be a minimum of 50 minutes.
- Continued education courses from an accredited university or other approved school for Illinois MTs counts for 15 hours per each credit hour, while university quarter hours count for 10 credit hours.
- 12 hours of continued education can include a self-study course taught by a sponsor that has been approved to teach massage therapy in Illinois. This course includes an examination, a published article in a nationally recognized MT journal OR a presentation at an academic workshop or seminar OR an online course.
- 48 hours of continued education must be completed, in order to renew affiliation with the American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) every four years.
If you live in Illinois and are interested in starting a fulfilling career in massage therapy -- there's nothing holding you back. Get started right away in a field that will launch your career to soaring heights. Start training to become a Licensed Massage Therapist in Illinois, today!