Where to get started in Massage Therapy in FloridaIn the state of Florida, massage therapists are in high demand. While you may be interested in a career in massage therapy -- it's difficult to know where to go in your home state of Florida in order to get started. In the following guide, we'll provide you with the information you need to start your career in massage therapy in the Sunshine State.
The state of Florida has regulated the practice of massage therapy within the state. This means that individuals need to complete certain licensing and education requirements (listed below) prior to becoming a certified massage therapist within the state of Florida.
The Florida Board of Massage Therapy (FBMT) and the Florida Department of Health (both located in Tallahassee) are two great sources for questions related to getting started in massage therapy and applicable MT regulations within the state and your local area.
EducationIf you wish to practice within the state of Florida, you will need to select a school in order to become certified. The state of Florida offers several options for individuals wishing to receive an education or degree in massage therapy. Those wishing to receive a degree can attend classes at a school that has been approved by the Florida Board of Massage Therapy or choose an online school with the FBMT seal of approval.
In order to receive certification to practice massage therapy in the state, Florida residents need to complete certification and renewal requirements required by the Florida Board of Massage Therapy. The requirements for receiving MT certification in the state of Florida are, as follows:
- Complete a minimum of 500 hours in supervised training from a Florida Board of Massage Therapy-approved school
- Pass the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB) and successfully pass the MBLE administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards
- Complete two-hour "Prevention of Medical Errors" course
- Pay $205 in application fees
The requirements for renewal of your massage therapy license in Florida are, as follows:
- Complete a minimum of 24 CEU (continued education unit) hours every two years -- essentially, one hour per month since last renewal. *Pay $155 in renewal fees
Additionally, Florida MTs can earn their certification in Colonic Irrigation, as well. This process is actually known better as, colon cleansing. Any licensed Florida MT or MT license applicant is eligible to apply for certification. The requirements of certification for Colonics in Florida require CMTs and LMTs to:
- Submit the completed application form
- Pay certification application fees
- Meet other training and educational requirements
When you have completed the above requirements, you will be considered a professional in the field of massage therapy. In the state of Florida, massage therapy is an excellent field to be in -- especially according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, which reported an average hourly rate for MTs in Florida at $18.59. As far as the highest and lowest paying salaries for MTs in Florida: Fort Lauderdale and Palm Beach offer top payouts at $53,000, while Destin, Orlando and Panama City Beach offer Massage Therapists an average annual salary under $49,000.